Family Camping: A Holiday with Fringe Benefits

I’m just back from a camping trip and it was so great to see all those families sharing the camping experience with their children.  The campground was full all week long.

It makes me hopeful.  I am hopeful that these children who have experienced nature will grow up to care deeply about the world we live in.  I am hopeful that these children will develop problem-solving skills after being left alone to solve problems themselves.  I am hopeful that these children will develop greater creativity because of finding ways to play without commercially made toys and simply using the sticks, stones, pinecones, etc. that nature provides.  I am hopeful that these children who are active and busy in their outdoor pursuits will continue to be active and healthy adults.

IMG_0533

The best part of the trip was watching my teenage daughter as she negotiated the outdoor environment.  She solved problems with her own resourcefulness; how can we get that rope tied to the tree as high as possible?  She kept busy and active for the entire time and at the end of the week she shared with me what she learned.  She told me “I realize how I don’t really need my tablet or phone or a television to have a good time.”  This was the wisdom she offered me at the end of the trip.  No matter what you may think about technology and this new generation; there is still an affinity for nature and being active that is alive and well in many children and teens today.

To all parents who have ever taken the family on a camping trip… thank you!

Want to read more? Check out the Nature Principle by Richard Louv

2 thoughts on “Family Camping: A Holiday with Fringe Benefits

Comments are closed.