First Day of Preschool: Reflections of a Mom/ECE

“Life isn’t a matter of milestones, but of moments.”

-Rose Kennedy

If you are the mother of a child who is about to start preschool you probably have all sorts of emotions about this event.  It represents a significant change in life for both you and your child.

I will always remember the start of preschool for my son and exactly what he said to me.  “You can go now, Mommy.”  He was 3 years old. This one simple sentence brought so many thoughts and emotions flooding into my brain.

  • Thank you my wonderful child for making this easier for me.  He was my first child and I was wondering exactly when should I leave and hoping he would give me a cue. I was full of love and pride.
  • Am I being too clingy?  I didn’t want to be one of those hovering mothers who wouldn’t let my child have a life.  I was full of self-doubt.
  • My boy is amazing; does he realize that those words were exactly what I needed to hear at that moment?   I felt more pride.
  • I wish I could stay and see exactly what happens without him knowing; that desire was so strong I had to tear myself away because I knew I must respect his words.  I felt sadness for what I might be missing in his life having shared so much up to this moment.IMG_1522

Today I am the preschool teacher and the parents are dealing with the emotions of the first day.  I’m really glad I’ve been there (and by the way, the experience with my second child was totally different, though still full of conflicting emotions and challenges).  As a teacher, I wish I had more time with each parent individually to talk about the first day and give greater support.  But the bottom line is, I have been there and I totally understand.

If you’d like some ideas for helping your child adjust to preschool click here.

4 thoughts on “First Day of Preschool: Reflections of a Mom/ECE

  1. Funnily enough, this was the response of my first child too. My littlest one was the harder one to tear away from, for many reason! Thanks for understanding the other side!

    Like

Comments are closed.