Why Start a Blog?

Blogging is brand new to me this year.  Why did I start a blog in the first place and what keeps me going?

Developing a Writing Habit

At first I thought that blogging would give me some regular writing practice and that having an audience waiting for posts would keep me honest.  And that is absolutely true.  It really helps me maintain a regular habit of writing.

Staying Connected

After I started and realized that a few of my former co-workers might be interested in reading the blog, I thought that might be a way to stay connected even though we no longer work together.

Self-Expression Can Be Therapeutic

What I didn’t realize is that blogging would actually become a fun hobby.  For me it is a means of self expression and at times feels almost therapeutic.  You can’t beat free therapy.

P1100035

An Opportunity to Improve Photography Skills

Then there’s the fact that I absolutely love photography and blogging encourages me to get out there and take more photos.  Its another reason for me to use my camera!

Becoming a Better Educator

Writing and recording stories about children’s play helps me focus on the things that they are learning each day, know the children better as individuals and gain ideas for the direction our curriculum can take. Hopefully this helps me become a better teacher.

Improving Communication With Families

Through the blog our preschool program has greater transparency. I’ve always believed this is so important in the education of young children.  My hope is that the blog gives parents both an understanding and an appreciation of what their children are learning and how play based learning can be valuable.  I hope it also becomes a tool for building relationships between everyone associated with the preschool as it provides an opportunity to discuss shared experiences.

Developing An Audience/Making Author Connections

And then there’s my desire to write picture books for children, to develop an audience for my writing and to connect with other authors and illustrators who share the same interests.

An Opportunity to Advocate

Add to that the fact that I feel I now have a platform to advocate for the value of Early Childhood Education and Early Literacy.  Whether I am making a significant impact or not, I feel like the queen of the world! (Well, um, maybe the queen of my little corner of the internet.)

An Opportunity to Share

I would like to think that somewhere along the way I might share something that would help someone else or make someone’s life better in some small way.

I’ll leave you with a quote:

“Why does one begin to write? Because she feels misunderstood, I guess.  Because it never comes out clearly enough when she tries to speak.  Because she wants to rephrase the world, to take it in and give it back again differently so that everything is used and nothing is lost.  Because it’s something to do to pass the time until she is old enough to experience the things she writes about.” -Nicole Krauss

 

 

2 thoughts on “Why Start a Blog?

Comments are closed.