Cindy’s Corner 2016

Now that 2016 is here I’d like to take this opportunity to share my plans for Cindy’s Creative Corner this year. 

I’m hoping that visitors here will get a chance to read about the value of something I am extremely passionate about; the value of play.  Did you know that at some elementary schools in the United States, the recess time has been decreased?  Did you know that some Canadian parents are concerned about their young children being ready to enter school and place greater emphasis on early childhood programs that support academic skills? Sometimes academics replace play time in these programs. Research has shown that for young children, play experiences are what helps the young child’s brain develop and improve neural connections.  Here at Cindy’s Creative Corner, I hope to outline some real play experiences and show how they contribute to children’s development.IMG_2018

My hope for 2016 is that my passion for early learning and literacy will shine through in my posts and highlight the important work that parents and Early Childhood Educators do.

This blog is a also a way for me to connect with other indie authors as I work towards publishing my stories for children.  So authors, if you’re out there, I’m always open to advice and I’d love to read about your experiences.  I currently have four unpublished picture books in the works.  My plan is to share my progress as I work towards realizing my dream of creating amazingly wonderful picture books for young children.

So if you are a parent, a grandparent, a teacher, an indie author or a picture book lover, you may be interested in spending a little time here at Cindy’s Creative Corner.  I hope you come back and visit again soon.

 

5 thoughts on “Cindy’s Corner 2016

  1. Yikes! That is scary to read that play is being taken out of the learning system. I homeschool, so I encourage play even at a teenage level. In my opinion, they need to burn off energy and learn through play, about the world around them. I often take the kids outside, unplugged for play time, and have since they were little. I am looking forward to hearing more about your children’s books as well as learning more about play.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It does surprise me to hear about decisions like that when there is so much research about young children, the importance of being active and learning through play.

    Like

Comments are closed.