A Gift.

Have you ever read a book that is a source of inspiration to you?

For Christmas, someone who knows me very well gave me this absolutely amazing book.  As soon as I saw it, I knew I wanted to start reading.

It is exactly the type of thing I love to read.  Stories of real people living in far away countries whose lives are completely different from mine.  People who struggle, people who find hope and people who are inspiring.  I knew I could easily read through it in a day but I forced myself to take it slowly and really appreciate the impact of this true story.IMG_2680

This book did not disappoint.  I was totally enthralled with the story that brings to light issues like poverty, drug abuse, women’s equality, and the right to education.

How does this book relate to play, learning and literacy?  You will need to read the book for a more complete answer; however, here is part of the answer: Kennedy Odede uses his last 20 shillings to buy a soccer ball.  The game of soccer gives hope to his community.  Play is the beginning of a solution; it is what provides hope for the people living in Kiberia, Kenya. 

If you have ever sponsored a child in a far away country, read this book.  If you believe in the power of education, read this book.  If you want to better understand the power of play, read this book.  If you want to find the good in humanity, read this book.  Aww heck, just read this book!  You cannot help but be inspired by these incredible people.

I will leave you with a question.  What inspires you?

6 thoughts on “A Gift.

  1. I love this! I have been looking for a new book to find inspiration from. I most definitely will have to pick this up next time I’m at Barnes and Noble. Thank you for the suggestion and the wonderful review 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.