Songs with Rice and Rain

I have combined the light table with the rice sensory bin and just love the impact! This was truly a multi-sensory experience!

Here you can see the rice with forest animals, pinecones and driftwood.  It seemed to be very satisfying for the children to  draw in the rice with the light shining through.

IMG_0886

J and I were playing here together.  Two unlikely friends brought together by a common interest.

After awhile the rice became the rain and the rain became a song.

“Rain, rain, go away.  Come again another day.”

It gave me great pleasure to hear the song and play combined.  I always love it when children spontaneously break into song as they play.  This moment was extra special.

This moment involved a child who I have never heard join the group in a song all year.  J is developing an interest in singing which is so wonderful.  I am thrilled because I know it will help his language development tremendously.  Spontaneously breaking into song means that J is truly interested in singing and this interest will lead him to new discoveries as he learns more about the world around him.

I would like to say that I captured the moment of the first song I heard him sing at preschool.  I can’t quite say that truthfully.  The Eency Weency Spider was the first.  It happened a few weeks ago.  Both times it was a real thrill to hear him sing.  I know there will be more songs from him and perhaps, one day it will be his voice joining in with the voices of all his friends.

I am confident that I will remember this day.

Enjoy the little things in life, for one day you may look back and realize they were big things.  -Unknown

 

 

