Clouds

Clouds

IMG_0053

I cannot look at clouds without thinking about Joni Mitchell’s ‘Both Sides Now.’

“Bows and flows of angel hair

And ice cream castles in the air

And feathered canyons everywhere

I’ve looked at clouds that way”

I totally appreciate her playful, optimistic look at clouds above contrasted with her pessimistic view as follows…

“But now they only block the sun

They rain and snow on everyone

So many things I would have done

But clouds got in my way”

IMG_0849

For me the two contrasting views in the song make me look at the kind of person I want to be (first stanza) vs. the person I’d rather not become (2nd stanza).

Option 1 (at the top)  The kind of person with a positive outlook, someone playful who has an imagination. Someone who can look at life creatively and see the best in people and situations.

Option 2 (below) The kind of person who looks at life with a “glass is half empty” attitude.  The kind of person who first looks for what’s wrong with the word before seeing what’s going right.  The kind of person who blames others for not getting things accomplished.

So hopefully when you read my posts here on simply.cindy you find the angels, the ice cream castles and the feathered canyons and for a few minutes you can see how a child would look at life… with a sense of playfulness and fun.  And hopefully, like that beautiful clear blue sky in the top photo, my positive outlook shines through.

4 thoughts on “Clouds

Comments are closed.