Six Canadian Authors Kids Will Love

In celebration of Canada day, (yes, I realize this was a few days ago) I’m sharing some of my favourite Canadian authors who write for children.  Who are your favourite home-grown authors who write for children?  Feel free to share in the comments.

These are some of the people who have inspired me to write for children. Check out their books!  Here they are in no particular order…

canadian-flag-1381017981QZXTim Wynne Jones  I like the Zoom series.  If you love cats, you’ll love Zoom.

Celia Barker Lottridge  Her book, Ten Small Tales is full of great read aloud stories!

Marie Louise Gay  There’s something about her character, Stella that I just love.  Try her series featuring Stella; the characters really come alive for me. They talk and act like real children.

Phoebe Gillman Try reading Grandma and the Pirates, Something From Nothing, The Balloon Tree, Jillian Jiggs, Pirate Pearl, or The Blue Hippopotamus to a child you know and love. These are stories really capture children’s hearts and minds.IMG_1115Kenneth Oppel  Try reading “Silverwing”… this is a middle grade novel that can just as easily appeal to adults.

Lucy Maude Montgomery  I will forever remember Anne of Green Gables; anyone who has ever loved Anne is a ‘kindred spirit’ of mine.

Having trouble finding a quality picture book to read to your children?  Check out my post, Children’s Picture Books: Finding the Gems for some ideas.

I invite you to share a favourite author from your home country in the comments.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Six Canadian Authors Kids Will Love

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. There’s a good variety mentioned in this post and so many more out there! It does take some sifting through the pile to find the really excellent ones. Hope you’ll check out my book when it gets released. “Katy Shaeffer, Pancake Maker” is the title and its going to be fun and fabulous!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.