My 6,949 Day Shared Journey

6,949 days ago, I began my journey into parenthood. And I am so thankful that I did not have to do it alone.

IMG_2066

When we started on this journey, my hubby and I were feeling ready.  We had finished undergraduate degrees, started our careers, and were living in our third home already.  Being a teacher, I had experience with children and child development.  He had a sense of fun and humour that I knew our children would love.

We were totally unprepared.

At first, I felt so alone.  I didn’t know what to do with a baby, how to read cues, understand the cries and figure out what this little person needed.  I felt confident going in but that all went out the window.   At times, hubby and I had totally different ideas on how to care for our child.

Somehow, we endured.  I did a lot of walking with a crying colicky baby in the carriage.  We got through the sleepless nights, the teething, the tantrums and by the time he was three, it was all a distant enough memory that we were ready to take the plunge again and have baby number two.

And slowly, gradually, my confidence returned.  We began to work better as a team.  I recognized that there wasn’t only one way to parent… (the way I thought was best).  Hubby showed me that there is another perspective, another way that also works.  A way with humour and lightness that balanced my serious attempts at good supervision and teaching values and responsibility right from the early days.  And though I didn’t agree with every step we took, I kept an open mind, recognizing that children need more than one perspective in this complicated world.

IMG_2060

 

Fast forward to today and our 19 year old and 16 year old do so much that make us proud.  Truthfully, they don’t need to do a thing because we would be proud of them anyway.  Still, we are at that point now where we see the rewards of all that time we put in together.  Today, it is not all easy-peasy and if you are on the outside looking in you might make judgements or see flaws or perhaps feel we could do better.

The bottom line:  I wouldn’t go on that 6,949 day journey with anyone else.  And I look forward to the next 6,949 days as our children eventually begin lives of their own knowing there will be challenges but that if we work together with an open mind to each other’s unique perspectives, life will work out as it always does.

 

5 thoughts on “My 6,949 Day Shared Journey

  1. I have never counted the days, but mine would more than double yours! Parenting is such an amazing journey. There is no manual that tells us what to do in every situation, but plenty of “well meaning” advice, often by those whose situations are different, or who have forgotten. It’s a role we learn on the job, and our best teachers are our children. How I loved, and continue to love, every step of the journey with mine – both now loving, responsible, compassionate humanitarian adults; one with gorgeous little ones of his own. The journey continues. Congratulations on yours. Enjoy the days ahead! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments, Norah. I think by counting the days it really highlights the commitment required for being a parent. It is a journey longer than any other I can imagine. And you are so right about the ‘well meaning’ advice. Each child and family is so unique. There is no map to follow.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The number of days certainly does highlight the commitment, Cindy. I wonder how many of us would take it on if we thought about it that way! It doesn’t stop when they grow to adulthood or leave home either. I, for one, wouldn’t have it any other way. I love being a parent, whatever age the child!

        Like

Comments are closed.