Summer Book Buy

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Every summer, I indulge my book habit and buy a few books to add to my children’s picture book collection.  I had the luxury of ordering these books.  I’m so excited about them and I just had to share! This year I was looking for good picture books related to nature. Do you have any favourite children’s picture books that are nature inspired?

For me buying books in the summer is a luxury because as a preschool teacher, I don’t normally get paid over the summer months so buying these extras really feels like a splurge. The books serve a good purpose for me in that they get me inspired for the school year to come.

Look What I Did With a Leaf by Morteza E. Sohi

This book will provide great inspiration to young children for how to beautifully arrange those leaves they love to collect.  It exudes a love for nature and for art; I’m thrilled with this one!IMG_1342

Leaf Man by Lois Ehlert

The artwork is absolutely gorgeous.  This book really appeals to the imagination and how leaves can be arranged to look like butterflies or people or just about anything.  This depicts leaves in different arrangements as they are blown about by the wind.  For more stories related to the wind theme, see Wind: Explorations with Young Children.

IMG_1344

If You Find a Rock

What can you do with a rock?  What makes them special?  What makes them interesting?  The photographs in the book are so beautiful and inspire a sense of creativity and wonder. Love this book.

IMG_1340

I’m super happy with my choices this summer.  Do you have any favourite nature inspired children’s picture books?  Please share.

“Let nature be your teacher.”

-William Wordsworth

Enjoyed reading this post? I don’t get paid for any of my writing; it is all done during my free time. If you’d like to show your appreciation for what you’re reading here then please like my Facebook page if you haven’t already. That would be just awesome. Thank you.

 

2 thoughts on “Summer Book Buy

    1. You’re welcome. I’m excited for the school year to start just so I can read them. I have not seen “Leaf Litter”; now you’ve got me excited about another book. I’m going to search for that one too.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.