Designing a Fabulous Children’s Book Cover

This is going to be a fairly short post.  I want the book cover for Katie Shaeffer Pancake Maker to be fabulous.  Not just a facade but a true representation of the story.  And I want it to be eye catching like something an individual browsing in a book store online or in person would actually buy.

03
Katie Shaeffer Pancake Maker

Any advice from any seasoned authors/illustrators/publishers/book lovers out there?  Please share.  I’m listening!

 

 

15 thoughts on “Designing a Fabulous Children’s Book Cover

  1. I’m sorry I have no advice, but I do believe BOLD is better with children’s books. That is entirely my opinion, no practical experience in publishing to back it up. Best of luck, I can’t wait to see your book!!!!!!

    Like

  2. I think the picture is pretty, but I’m not sure I feel invited by it. Where would the writing go, I mean the title and and author name? I’d like to see that, too.

    Like

    1. Yes. The picture itself needs more, I agree. I was imagining a fun font for the title above the image with more larger stars added around the borders or corners of the page. Also instead of a white background I’d like some colour. But what colour? And some texture in the background too.

      Like

  3. Def something bright and attractive, instead of flat colors… Some texture as well and inside the book has to be enticing too- its ally flip through a book to ensure its illustrated well inside… Unless it’s a chapter book for kids

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Cindy,
    I’m a photorealist – so not sure I can help, but I did a screenshot of what you had above and played around. I think syrup is so fun – I added some highlights to give it a sparkle. I thought the blue dish was distracting, so I changed that and added more color to the stars in the background. I think the illustration has a lot of potential. I like it!https://judyunger.files.wordpress.com/2016/10/2016-10-03_08-00-46.jpeg
    Here’s a look at the kind of pancakes I’ve illustrated lol!

    Like

    1. Wow! That syrup looks so real. It is really helpful for me to see the potential of what can be done with an image. And I do like the stars bigger. Changing the colour of the dish helped too. It puts more emphasis on the pancakes . I’m going to give the book designer a friendly nudge in this direction… thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m really pleased to report that the feedback here along with feedback from my Facebook page and designer friends plus my own research is going to result in an awesome cover! I have just received the first cover edits and they are eye catching with a professional look. The book designers have found a way to really enhance the cover art. Yay!!

    Like

Comments are closed.