It’s All About the Relationship

I want to share something that might be of value to parents out there.  One of the most useful books I read that helped me as a parent was The Five Love Languages of Children by Gary Chapman and Ross Campbell.

images

When it comes to parenting I’ve always believed it’s all about the relationship you have with your children.  When the relationship is strong then everything goes smoothly.  And for me, relationships are built stronger through better understanding and communication.  That’s why this book is so wonderful.

The basic idea is that we all feel love more strongly when it is communicated in a way that is meaningful to us.  For some of us it might be touch, for others words of encouragement. Others may feel more loved when spending time together.  For some people, little surprises or gifts make us feel loved and for others it is when someone takes the time to do something of service to us that makes us feel loved.  Once you understand your child’s love languages you can better focus on making sure your child truly experiences the love you have to give.  A loved child is a happy child.

I know I always loved my children but there were times when they did not feel that love. Sometimes, I thought I was showing them love when I was using my favourite love language but the message wasn’t coming through for them.  I needed to use the love language that they understood best.  Once I figured that out and remembered to use it, our relationship just got stronger.

If you haven’t read this book yet, give it a chance!  There’s one for couples too 🙂

Enjoyed reading this post? I don’t get paid for any of my writing on this blog; it is all done during my free time. If you’d like to show your appreciation for what you’re reading here then please like my Facebook page. That would be just awesome. Thank you.

4 thoughts on “It’s All About the Relationship

  1. Thanks for the recommendation, Cindy. It sounds like a lovely book. I think it is important to treat others how they want to be treated, not how we want to be treated. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.