Patience: Good or Bad?

Waiting.  I have become very skilled at this activity.  If you can call it that.  As an early childhood educator, patience is a prerequisite for the job.  I spend my days waiting.  Waiting for children to respond to my words.  Waiting for children to put on shoes, put away coats, zip up lunch kits, put away toys and materials.  My waiting serves a good purpose.  It allows children to develop independence and to self-regulate.

img_2410

When it comes to writing and publishing, waiting is not such a good thing.  I started out with no deadlines on my picture book project, Katie Shaeffer, Pancake Maker. After awhile I realized, without a deadline, this book could forever be a work in progress!  Perhaps it is possible to have too much patience?

At the moment I am patiently waiting to hear from my book designer.  Okay, let me rephrase that.  I am impatiently waiting to hear from my book designer!  Please, send me some revisions!

3 thoughts on “Patience: Good or Bad?

Comments are closed.