Stepping Into Self-Publishing

When I first heard what it takes to write and publish a book I was totally overwhelmed!  It seemed bigger than a giant, this mountain I would have to climb to get my book, Katie Shaeffer Pancake Maker published.

30209190172_960edec018_qDid you know giant pandas eat 20 to 30 pounds of bamboo shoots per day?

First I needed to write the story, have an editor look at the story and give feedback.  Then I needed to incorporate the feedback into the story but who would I trust to edit my story?  I didn’t know anyone.  I needed beta readers too.  Who should I choose for that role? Then there would be interior book design, would I do that myself or find a designer?  Again, I didn’t know any book designers.  I didn’t even know how to choose a good book designer.  And what about the ebook?  Wait…I should publish it as an ebook too?  I didn’t even consider that at first!  And then I found out it is best to publish to lots of different platforms, Barnes and Noble, Amazon, Kindle etc.  And then there’s the cover.  A lot of work has to go into designing the cover.  What about marketing the book? Who will write reviews? This really was a gigantic process!

There was a part of me that wondered if it was even worth trying.  

IMG_2030

Then I started thinking about who might read the book…

And then I remembered this quote on a t-shirt my husband was given from his corporate type job.  Of course those corporate types are all about motivating their employees to encourage them to give more but it stuck with me.  Printed on the t-shirt…

“How do you eat an elephant? A little at a time.”

So I decided to eat the elephant.  And I am still not sure about this marketing stuff.  And the reviews… yikes!  We shall see how that goes. Let’s just say it’s a pretty big elephant and I totally see why people would rather mail out manuscripts to publishing companies.

And I have to say, I am so thankful for SCBWI, the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.  They have been an invaluable resource; it would have been much more difficult without them!

Eléphant d'Afrique (Loxodonta africana)

Since I’m still in process I can’t really say whether the self-publishing route was the best way to go for me but time will tell…

Thank you so much for reading.  I hope sharing my new experience will help someone else who is thinking about self-publishing or writing for children!

4 thoughts on “Stepping Into Self-Publishing

  1. Hi i read your blogpost 🙂 trust me i wrote something similar but from a different perspective.. pls do visit my blogpage
    And go thru the post called pangs of s writer 🙂 you will find the asnwer for your travails 🙂

    being a writer isnt wasy its indeed a tough task

    Like

Comments are closed.