Five Cat Themed Picture Books And a Bonus

For some reason, preschoolers love cats. Not trying to be a copycat but, there are some picture books whose authors I would love to emulate and they have all written some memorable picture books featuring cats.  Brendan Wenzel, Wanda Gag, Lynley Dodd, Dr. Seuss, Eric Litwin, and Margaret Wise Brown all have had success the cat theme. So with that in mind, here are five cat themed picture books you may wish to check out.

Why is it that books about cats have such appeal, anyway?

Most of these books I have read at some point or other to a rapt audience at preschool. Let me just say that I have not had a chance to read “They All Saw a Cat” by Brendan Wenzel but I am very curious to get my hands on that one.  It looks pretty interesting.

So why do picture books about cats have such appeal?

I think I can answer my own question.  Books about cats appeal to preschoolers because they know cats.  They have been around cats.  They observe cats and they pretend to be cats.  How many times have I had a child “meow” for the entire morning?  Probably more than I could count.

Just in case your children are a little older and past the preschool stage; I’m leaving you with this one.  It had me laughing.  For some reason, I just couldn’t help myself.

unknown-2

And I love this quote!  Ha ha!

“Women and cats will do as they please.  Men and dogs should just relax and get used to the idea.”  -Robert A. Heinlein

So maybe my next picture book needs to be about cats.  Hmmm….

6 thoughts on “Five Cat Themed Picture Books And a Bonus

  1. Love the quote and the books. My kids absolutely adore cats even though they can’t have one because one child is allergic. I guess its that cuteness factor.

    Like

Comments are closed.