My Ongoing Quest

Quest

I have an ongoing quest.  This quest will probably not end until the day I retire and even then I may feel compelled to continue my search…

img_2240

It is the search for loose parts that can be used for many purposes at preschool.  Our outdoor classroom already had the tires and the bean bags and now we also have cedar planks too.   Add a few more planks and more bean bags and voila!

img_2245

Ah but this masterpiece is not yet complete.  We must go on a quest for more loose parts to add to this wonderful creation.  Here are some wood scraps left from a table my husband was building; I just sanded them down before bringing them in and of course, they made a great addition to the fort building. img_2246

It was a good thing I started this quest because fortunately, we had more loose parts (sticks) to add to the fort.

img_2249

But of course the masterpiece was still not complete. We needed one more thing…

Pinecones, of course!

Here’s a slideshow of the entire process:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now for the burning question… What other loose parts can we add to our outdoor classroom?  I need a list so that I can continue my quest.  Your thoughts are welcome as we have some very keen fort builders who would like some more materials.

7 thoughts on “My Ongoing Quest

    1. Oh yes! Actually, when I was little we played a lot with leftover construction materials because we lived in an area where there was often a new home under construction. The builders always left things behind and they were our treasures.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.