Advent Calendar

This is one of those rare times when I let you in on something personal.  I’m going to share with you something I made for my family before it really even fully became a family.  

It’s Not This Time of Year Without…

img_2876

                                                            our advent calendar!

This advent calendar is something I made soon after my husband and I first got married.  I’m guessing it was probably 1993 or 1994.  I had time on my hands as we had moved to a new town and I was only able to get on call work as a teacher.  We planned on having children one day and I wanted to have some family traditions that we all looked forward to celebrating.  This sewing project was done with my mind full of hope for the future and what Christmas might be like with children in the house.

Our first child came into the world in 1997 and though the quilted calendar is certainly not perfect, it is ours and I love that it is home made and brought out each year.  Each shape is a pocket so there’s lots of flexibility for what goes in each one.  Most often, there are chocolates or money.  Some years, I have put little notes into the pockets about special things we will do each day.  That takes a fair bit of planning but has been totally worthwhile.

Although it is getting worn out and some of the bits of ribbon have fallen off, it is our family advent calendar and however dated it may be, it continues to be part of our celebrations and countdown to  Christmas day.

“Family traditions counter alienation and confusion.  They help us define who we are; they provide something steady, reliable and safe in a confusing world.”

-Susan Lieberman

13 thoughts on “Advent Calendar

  1. Love it, Cynthia! My wife made a wall hanging when our children were young and it such a special way to keep our their focus on the real reason for the season and a wonderful family tradition.

    Like

Comments are closed.