How Do You Measure a Year?

Love, love love this song!  Whether you wish to look backwards to 2016 or forwards to 2017, this song is a great way to do it 🙂  Hope you enjoy…

Okay, now for a rare moment of personal sharing.  For a few years, I sang mezzo soprano with a group of six lovely ladies and this song was part of our repertoire.  How I miss those Wednesday nights singing together.  What fun we had!

How do you measure a year? In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights, in cups of coffee. In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife. Measure in love.

This song is a great reminder that no year is all good or all bad.  It is a mixture of every day moments and highlights and disappointments.  I’ll take it all since without the sadness, there would be no joy.

Thank you to everyone who has followed and stopped by my blog in 2016.  You are hugely appreciated. May your 2017 be 525,600 minutes of appreciation for living measured in love.

13 thoughts on “How Do You Measure a Year?

  1. What a great post, inspirational too! Thanks for sharing your perspective, and helping to keep mine on straight! Happy Healthy New Year! You have so much ahead that looks wonderful! I am so glad to have met you here! ❤

    Like

  2. Hi Cynthia .
    Happy New Year.
    What is mezzo soprano?
    1st time I am hearing of this.
    Unfortunately,
    I have to disagree with you –
    There are some people
    Who go through bad times
    All year long
    Just my 2 bits.
    Best wishes and regards.
    Ved

    Like

    1. Hi Ved. Mezzo sopranos sing the harmony in the middle of the chord if that makes sense to you. Sometimes we get bits of melody but most of it is harmony.
      I hope you are not one of those people who has been through bad times all year long. I guess either I am very very fortunate in my life or else very good at seeing the positive side of life.
      Best wishes for 2017.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Cynthia.
        How are you?
        Thanks for taking the time
        To write to me
        And explain
        I THINK I understand
        LOL..confusing to me
        Year was filled
        With ups and downs
        It’s part of life
        Have to accept the bad times
        With the good times.
        Thanks for your wishes for 2017
        Wish you the same
        Regards

        Like

    1. Thanks. I’m a pretty private person so it is not always easy to share but I do understand that it is important to share some personal details. Hopefully it makes for more interesting blog reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.