It’s Like Having a Baby

Baby

Yes.  Writing and publishing a book is like having a baby.  I can attest to that even as my book baby is waiting to be born.

Nine months feels like a really long time at the end of it all.  Just before each of my children were born, I recall feeling desperate to find ways to help the baby realize that the time is now!  Both of my babies were born in the summer so being nine months pregnant and overheated is still fresh in my mind even 20 years later.

And now I have this book baby waiting to be born.  I couldn’t have done it alone.  There are several key people who have helped me along the way.

And it takes time.  Lots and lots of time.

And then there’s the hope. That feeling of hope for the book is a strong as the feeling of hope for the future of my babies’ lives.

Yes. It’s like having a baby.  And its summer time (figuratively) and nine months has gone by and I’m long past ready for the baby to be out in the world.

img_2822

Katie Shaeffer Pancake Maker, your birthday is coming soon.  I don’t know the date yet but soon you will be out there and all of my hope will be out there with you.

All my posts are done during my free time so if you’d like to show you’re appreciation for what you’re reading here, visit me on Facebook and like my author page! That would be awesome.

Thank you.

 

8 thoughts on “It’s Like Having a Baby

Comments are closed.