Dinner With a Philosophy Student

How can life be boring when almost every night you have the opportunity to have dinner with a philosophy student? Well, that’s our life now that our son has officially decided to be a philosophy major.

Today’s daily prompt is ruminate  which means to think deeply about something.

P1090892

#1 Son:  Everything in the entire world is made of the same substance.  You, me, this table, water, the floor….

Me:  Okay, well I can buy that since it all comes down to molecules anyway.

#1 Son: So according to Spinoza, that means we are all God; everything is God; nature is God.

Me:  Whoah, that’s very deep.

#1 Son: And we have no free will.  Everything is predetermined.  We think we have free will but we don’t.  Everything is going to happen in the way that it will happen.

Me:  I still want my free will.  I mean I want to believe that how I choose to spend my day makes a difference.  I want to believe that my written words make a difference.  I’m not sure if I want to accept that I have no free will.  But I guess that would be less stressful, right?  I mean, then it doesn’t matter what I do with myself…  whether I get married or don’t, have kids or don’t, write, teach or choose to sit home on the couch… it is all predetermined anyway…

#1 Son:  People who believe that everything is pre-determined are happier.

Me:  I want to be happy.  I think I’ll choose to believe that then.  Yes, happiness makes it worth believing that everything is pre-determined.  I choose happiness.

Curious about Spinoza?  Read more here.

“Peace is not an absence of war, it is a virtue, a state of mind, a disposition for benevolence, confidence, justice.” -Spinoza

I do not accept money for writing this blog but am happy to accept your Facebook likes 🙂

6 thoughts on “Dinner With a Philosophy Student

    1. Does it seem as if I have the answers? Not really. I have thoughts and in fact some of my thoughts are contradictory; I want to believe that I have free will and yet at the same time, I am willing to give up that idea to be happy. Usually my son shares what he learns (ideas of different philosophers) and we talk about them but I feel like with philosophy there are no right answers; only answers that each individual can live with.

      Like

Comments are closed.