Happy Canada Day!

Hello Fellow Canadians and Readers Abroad,

Today we are celebrating Canada’s 150th birthday.  As I was born in Canada’s Centennial year, it feels extra special for me somehow.

Here’s our Canadian strawberries in the early part of the harvest.  Yes, they are small but my are they ever delicious.

This afternoon we are planning to bake a delicious cake just for the occasion.  It may be a little warm to turn the oven on but it isn’t every day you get to celebrate 150 years of what is an truly amazing and wonderful place to live. (And yes, I realize that the aboriginal people were here thousands of years before now but can we put differences aside and just celebrate that too?)

Yes, we have our flaws but let’s celebrate what’s good about our country and build on that moving forwards.

Oh Canada! The true north strong and free.

I am a Canadian, free to speak without fear, free to worship in my own way, free to stand for what I think right, free to oppose what I believe wrong, or free to choose those who shall govern my country.  This heritage of freedom I pledge to uphold for myself and all mankind.                                                                -John Diefenbaker from the Canadian Bill of Rights, July 1, 1960

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Happy Canada Day!

Leave a Reply

